Go Back   JeepBBS > jeep related stuff only > Technical Forum
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Technical Forum The main forum for jeep related discussions. Mechanically Inept...

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-27-2006, 06:28 AM
dennisuello

32RH upgrades

I pulled the tranny out last night. I have no problems with it, other than the leaky front seal, which was the reason to pull it out.

While I have it out, what upgrades are available for this 3 speed and what is recommended? I'm an auto tranny newbie, I just heard things like reverse valve body and high stall TQ, but I don't know if I need that or now.
Old 01-27-2006, 10:51 AM
dennisuello

oh yeah, what should do to relocate the vent?
Old 01-27-2006, 01:28 PM

I would suggest PM'ing StealthTJ - he can supply a ton of info on these transmissions. I'm no expert, but other than relocating the vent and making sure you have adequate cooling, I really don't think anything needs to be done. The 32RH/TF999 is a pretty stout tranny.

Personally, I wouldn't recommend a high stall converter - those are normally used in drag racing-type applications where the engine powerband is higher. The high stall speed converters slip and generate tons of heat at lower RPMs. My dad made the mistake of putting a 3500 stall converter in his T-bucket, and it only took a few miles before the transmission got REALLY hot.

Not sure if things have changed over the years, but the only reverse valve bodies I'm familiar with also convert to full manual. I'm not sure what the advantage to the reverse shift pattern would be in a Jeep application, but then again, I still have three pedals.