Go Back   JeepBBS > Discussion Battleground > Jeep Friends Forum
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Jeep Friends Forum This is a forum for jeep friends to hang out. For more formal atmosphere hop over to the Technical Forum

Old 03-04-2003, 04:15 PM
Reggae

No Trailer Jeep Tow

Please excuse me, if you find my question ridiculous, I have zero towing experience.

Is it possible to tow a jeep like this?

I am thinking about getting a truck to tow the jeep behind, and sleep in, but I have no place to store a trailer.
Old 03-04-2003, 04:17 PM

Yeah, its possible. I think you'd be happier sticking with the tried and true flat towing method. You have hubs, so it'd steer fine.... just aim for a strong truck with good brakes and plenty of power.
Old 03-04-2003, 04:47 PM
Reggae

Smile

Something like this?
Old 03-04-2003, 07:25 PM
Banned

Sergy, of course you can flat tow your Jeep behind a truck. Did that for many years with no problems. The best way to achieve this is to run a full floater in the rear. That way you can unlock your hubs at both ends and don't have to worry about any "accidents" with regards to transmission/transfer case positions.

That said, it is really nice to be able to put the Jeep on a trailer (with brakes on all four wheels) and not worry. You also have good braking. You also have a way to get your broken vehicle back home.

Now what kind of trailer? Some like to run the longer trailers. That way they can put more stuff on them. Some like the shorter kind. Just the right size for a Jeep and a few sticks of firewood. Also easier to find a place to park.

Good hunting for the solution you will be happy with.
Old 03-04-2003, 07:54 PM

I flat tow mine for the same reason you stated. No place to stow a trailer. I flat towed it with a Detroit in the front and rear with no problems. I have the front hub and rear Ox now. It's really simple to do except for the fact you can't back up.
I tow it behind the fifth wheel!
Old 03-04-2003, 09:09 PM
Reggae