Go Back   JeepBBS > Discussion Battleground > Jeep Friends Forum
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Jeep Friends Forum This is a forum for jeep friends to hang out. For more formal atmosphere hop over to the Technical Forum

Old 08-27-2005, 03:34 PM

Carnage with small hubs?

Have you guys had any u-joints or shafts break in your dana 30's with the small Warn hubs?

I broke my short side inner shaft at the splines a few weeks ago in Clayton, OK. The breakage caused the housing around the o-rings for the ARB to rotate under the bearing cap and sheared off the copper air line. I'm wondering if the small hubs would have prevented this failure, or if it's still a crap shoot as to what will break. The shafts were new stock shafts, and the ears were actually stretched around the u-joint caps. I'm surprised the u-joint didn't break first. My chromos are sitting itn the garage... I just hadn't installed them yet.

I have no experience with the hubs, so I appologize if these are newbie questions.....
"ALIEN" <>< Heb. 11:13

www.jeepaddicts.com
Old 08-28-2005, 02:55 PM

I am curious about this as well. The smaller hubs use the fuses too correct?
Old 08-28-2005, 05:09 PM

I'm not sure about the answer to Alien's question in relation to the stock inners. Most? people here using the small hub kit are also running chromolly inner axles. The idea is that when you have the chomolly inner and outer axles, then the small hub "should" act as the "fuse" and blow before anything else breaks. If using stock inners, then I'm not sure whether the hub would necessarily blow first.

To answer Battallion's question, no the small hubs do not use a fuse.

I'm sure others will chime in here when they get done with the major project work underway currently
Old 08-28-2005, 09:53 PM
Reggae

Small hub is the fuse. Very easy to replace, take the wheel off, slide the replacement hub on, put the wheel back on.