Go Back   JeepBBS > Discussion Battleground > Introduce Yourself
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Introduce Yourself This is a welcoming section of our bulletin board. New members, after completing the initial registration process, please stop here first to say ?Hello?

Old 03-27-2004, 09:50 AM

Buying a no frills off-road configured Wrangler

I'm new to this Jeep business and don't know a YJ from a CJ. I would like to buy a new Wrangler (is that correct terminology?) with minimum cost to take maximum advantage of $2,000 rebate. Highway travel is not important. I have 2002 Silverado and as a super senior my traveling will be minimal in the near future. Here are my thoughts and if I'm headed for the edge of a cliff please advise. Four (4) cylinder with air conditioning. Soft top. Vinyl seat covers and no back seat. Rollbar (Std?). Would like to configure top to enclose front seat only, with windows and doors off if possible and legal. Tires- What is the minimum tire package that would enhance resale. Winch- Is this a good factory option or can I get a better deal with aftermarket
supplier? What dealership has best prices? Assume big dealers buy for unknown amount well below 'Invoice'. Any help will be
appreciated. Thanks, Earl
Old 03-27-2004, 04:57 PM
Reggae

Hello Earl! Welcome to jeepbbs.

That is good that highway travel is not important to you, because 4-cyl jeeps are a little low in the power department for comfortable highway driving.

The maximum tire size, you can fit in a TJ with minimal rubbing at full wheel turn (current production Jeep Wranglers are commonly referred to as TJs) is 31"x10.5"; the most popular rim size is 15" diameter, 8" wide.

Somebody should step in and recommend what is the best backspacing for such tire on a stock height TJ. I am pretty sure it's 4", but I may be mistaken.