Go Back   JeepBBS > Discussion Battleground > Jeep Friends Forum
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Jeep Friends Forum This is a forum for jeep friends to hang out. For more formal atmosphere hop over to the Technical Forum

Old 10-20-2003, 06:54 AM
Arizona Chick

Send a message via ICQ to Wind_Danzer Send a message via AIM to Wind_Danzer Send a message via Yahoo to Wind_Danzer
Smile Advice on taking out a loan

Hey all,

I'm new to this so bear with me. I would like to take a loan out to buy a new (well used ~ a 97) motorcycle and was wondering how to go about it. I plan to visit the one bank I have an account with today and also visit a Credit Union close to my home.

Right now I could get financing through the dealer but it's at 11% right now and I would like to have that a little lower.

I have a few questions:

1. If I was to stick with the dealer, would a co-signer bring the rate down?

2. Should I try for a personal loan or actually go with the motorcycle loan?

3. I have a decent hunk of change to put down for the bike. Should I though get a loan for the full bike and then use that hunk of change to jump start paying the loan off (the bike is $3,700+)

3a. Should I also include the cost of insurance with it (it's $572/year)?

4. Is there anything I need to watch out for and be aware of?

5. Do most places allow you to pre-pay w/o penality? I'd like to not have anythign to pay off for a long time, I'm just about done with the Jeep payments.

6. Will being about 10 - 12k in debt hurt my chances?

Hmmmm.... I can't think of anything else right now. The reason I want the bike is to allow me to pay more towards debt by using the bike (Yes I'll use it in the winter when the ground isn't snow or ice covered) allwoing me to throw more money on the bills. My last bike has blown the engine and has just turned into a money pit. Fawking bike...
Old 10-20-2003, 07:38 AM

Re: Advice on taking out a loan

Quote:
Originally posted by Wind_Danzer