Go Back   JeepBBS > jeep related stuff only > Fabrication and Metalworking
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Fabrication and Metalworking Get welding advice, discuss different alloys, share pictures of your first fabrication attempts, as well as welds you are especially proud of

Old 04-09-2007, 02:01 PM
Can I get a mint julep with that?

Did I screw up?

On an Ebay whim, I bought a new Lincoln 175 HD for $405. To be honest, I didn't think I'd win it, but oh well ...

I've been using a Readywelder for "non-life" endangering welds, but my '65 Mustang project requires that I get a welder better suited for shop use (i.e. doesn't take 20 minutes to setup and put away). I have a buddy on my hockey team who is a welder by trade who'll I'll be looking to to teach me the ways of the force (I haven't told him this yet ).

Anyway, any thoughts on this welder or would I be better off turning it over on Ebay?

p.s. by "welder", I'm referring to the machine, not the operator. My welds thus far with the Readywelder speak volumes to that.

Quote:
The WELD-PAK 175HD from Lincoln Electric lets you take command of those projects that require some extra muscle. With its attention-getting 175 amps of output, this 208/230-volt wire feeder welder is powerful enough to weld mild steel up to 3/16 In. thickness with gas-shielded MIG wire and 1/2 In. with .045 In.nershield? NR?-212 self-shielded flux-cored wire. Best of all, the PRO-MIG 175 is essentially ready to plug in and use - just add a supply of shielding gas for MIG welding on mild steel. If you want to weld with .035 In. self-shielded flux-cored wire on mild steel then say no more - everything you need is in the box!

? 30-175 amps output.
? Welds mild steel up to 1/2 In. thick with .045 In. Innershield NR-212 self-shielded flux-cored wire (sold separately).
? Just add a cylinder of shielding gas to MIG weld mild steel.
? Comes complete with everything needed to weld mild steel